Red Bull Art of Motion is an international event that attracts great interest from young freerunners.

Among them, Greece has its own champion, Dimitris “DK” Kyrsanidis, with two gold medals, in 2014 and 2015. The event takes place since 2007, but it was hosted on Santorini only in 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016. The challenging routes over the rooftops of Oia make the island an ideal stage for the competition. Therefore, Red Bull Art of Motion 2017 will be held in Oia again on October 7 this year. So, save the date.

Greek freerunner Dimitris “DK” Kyrsanidis was the champion in 2014 and 2015 and a contest favorite in 2016, but Bart van der Linden from The Netherlands won the title, defeating American freerunners Alfred Scott and Joey Adrian. Alfred Scott was also the contestant with the best trick. However, Bart van der Linden impressed both the crowd and the judges, and won his first title at the Red Bull Art of Motion.

The schedule for the Red Bull Art of Motion 2017 competition includes four stages as follows:

  • Online Qualifier: June 6 – July 6, 2017 – The seven best athletes (four men and three women) will reserve their spot in the main competition.
  • Selection Jam: October 4, 2017 – The Red Bull Art of Motion judges will choose 20 athletes from the Selection Jam who will qualify to the Onsite Qualifier.
  • Onsite Qualifier: October 5, 2017 – The five best athletes from this take their places at the Red Bull Art of Motion 2017 final!
  • Main Competition: October 7, 2017 – Seven athletes from the Online Qualifier, five athletes from the Onsite Qualifier and the top six freerunners from Red Bull Art of Motion 2016 will compete in the final.

Red Bull Art of Motion judges will be Anan Anwar (Creativity), Gabriel Nunes (Difficulty), Sergio Cora (Flow), Kie Willis (Execution) and Marcus Gustafsson (Overall Performance). Patrick Morawetz will be the lead judge.

Red Bull Art of Motion 2017 promises to be an exciting event with a record number of spectators in 2017.

Featured image: Red Bull Art of Motion 2016: Alfred Scott. (Photo credit: Alex Grymanis/ Red Bull content pool)

Comments are closed.